I Forgot to Mention I Nearly Got Punched

Yesterday I got so carried away describing the happiness of my day of abandon I completely forgot to mention this.

It was, as I said, an inclusive experience. However, there was this one guy….

“I’m not saying you don’t have a right to be here, but…”

I don’t fully recall the rest of the sentence but it amounted to “Can you just piss off please”. OK, there wasn’t actually much “please” involved.

I do Yoga. My favourite pose is one I mentioned in my very first blog post. Tadasana, or “Mountain Pose”. It is very simple. Plant your feet, occupy your space with intent, be a mountain. Do not shrink or diminish yourself.

Ten years ago I would have cut my losses to avoid any hint of confrontation.

On Saturday I said…no. This is my space and I have occupied it. If you find that objectionable, then that is your problem, not mine. You live with it, or piss off yourself.

He slunk off. I wasn’t going to lose any sleep over it.

Some of my blog posts have prompted a bit of finger wagging and incredulity amongst some acquaintances. I link them to Facebook so this is a very public blog, not an anonymous one. There is a reason for that.

Tadasana.

2 thoughts on “I Forgot to Mention I Nearly Got Punched

Leave a Reply

