Melodramatic and Abstract

The first batch of responses to the poetry I submitted for publication are back from three magazines. It was one outright rejection with no explanation, one being “considered” for the October issue, and the last one was a “no” on the grounds that my poetry is “too melodramatic and abstract”.

Me?

He wanted to know if I wrote poems about more mundane subjects because that’s the kind of poetry he likes. He thought I had a “way with language” so was publishable if I weren’t quite so off my trolley. I suppose he means about daffodils, or cleaning the toilet.

3 thoughts on “Melodramatic and Abstract

Leave a Reply

