Delivery

Maja at Business in Rhyme posted up this quotation from Maya Angelou.

“…the poem may want you to write it. And then sometimes you see a situation and think, “I’d like to write about that.” Those are two different ways of being approached by a poem, or approaching a poem.”

This rings true and made me think of something I read in Jeanette Winterson’s memoir recently, about how there are poems you write, and poems that write you. Her take on it was that the latter is reckless, ill-advised, dangerous. For once I disagree with her. I think she was being a bit anal and verging on control-freakery.

My Day 19 NaPoWriMo effort woke me up at 3 a.m. asking to be written. I was merely an accessory, slumped half-asleep at the keyboard like a midwife with a hangover.

“Pussssssshhhhhhhhhh!!!”

We may need some stitches.

One thought on “Delivery

Leave a Reply

